The best made plans….& something exciting!

I know, I know, I haven’t written a post for ages and ages!

Things have been manic busy for me over the last couple of months…too much to do and too little time. Really, I haven’t had time to stop and think or take a breath….

A gazillion of you have been in contact asking about when donations can be sent in again and I know so many of you get the hooks and needles out over the Winter months and will be eager to donate your beautiful creations. Well, the good news is that we are still in need of EVERYTHING and are still distributing to children and families in need but, practicalities dictate that we have to change the way we collect and transport things to Algeria. So, rather than accepting donations throughout the year we will be holding a number of donation drives at set times. The first of these will be in December. I appreciate that this is not ideal for those that like to send off their donations as soon as they are ready but, we are now going to be sending donations to Algeria less frequently but in larger quantities four times a year and we simply do not have the storage space to hold lots of donations before they can be shipped. I hope you understand and will continue to support our work. Your help is so much appreciated!

DECEMBER 1ST-31ST

For those that need to get in touch, please note that our email address has now changed.

email symbol

For some unknown reason we are unable to access the old inbox so if you have sent a message over the past month or so it hasn’t been received. Please use contact@algerianaction.co.uk from now on if you need to drop us a line.

paint brushAs you regular readers will know, I had so many crafty plans for the Summer, I really wanted to hold workshops and encourage creativity but, disappointingly with one thing and another it just didn’t happen. People were on holiday….I needed to go away too for a while…. and with the Summer heat, everything went s-l-o-w-l-y in Algiers which made it difficult to organise things…. But, it’s now cooler (a bit!), things have settled back down (for now!) and I have something very exciting to share with you: My new BIG project !!  This is something that I have been working towards for a long time, something that I am passionate about, naturally, something creative, something that will develop and grow and something that I hope will provide opportunities and make a difference to children in Algeria. Without further ado let me introduce:

 

artylingua logo

You already know that I love all things creative and some of you might know, my ‘thing’ is education…. the early years and special needs are my specific areas of expertise. Artylingua is built around this. It is where language and creativity collide to create a range of workshops and courses that are perfect for young minds and as you would expect, they are accessible to ALL children irrespective of ability or social background.  The rooms have been filled with handmade furniture and fantastic materials to facilitate learning and I have created a fab art room where  children can let their imaginations run riot! Can you tell I’m thrilled?! The art outreach programme I started with Algerian Action will continue through Artylingua- It is my personal mission to get all kids here painting, sticking and creating…I would love for you to join me on that journey – so many things can be achieved when we work together!

If you would like to find out more about the project, take a peek at the website.  If you would like to stay up to date with what’s going on please add your email to the mailing list on the site (it wont be shared with anyone it’s just a way for me to keep in touch). There are lots of activities and events planned for the rest of the year including a fun filled Arty Afternoon of free workshops on 28th October as part of the International Big Draw festival. If you are in Algiers please do come along, it would be lovely to see you!

imageedit_41_6038815408

Wishing you all a great week full of creativity!

Emma x

1 Comment

Filed under algeria, charity, children, community, crafts, donation, donations, Events, Uncategorized

One response to “The best made plans….& something exciting!

  1. Salamu alayki.

    I hope you are doing well.

    I sent you an email because I want to help in your project as I live in Algeria.

    Please if there is any other way to contact you kindly let me know. I also have a message for you from a sister who tried to contact you by mail because she has some crochet clothes to donate but she didn’t receive any answer, so maybe you didn’t receive her mail.

    Waiting for your answer, jazaaki Allahu khairan.

Leave a comment